National Helplines

The following national helplines can provide further initial help and support with common mental health issues.

Abuse

Family Matters, tel: 01474 537 392, www.familymattersuk.org

Rape and Sexual Abuse Support Centre (RASASC), tel: 08451 221 331, www.rasasc.org.uk

Mankind UK, tel: 01273 510 447, www.mankinduk.co.uk

Addictions

Alcoholics Anonymous, tel: 0845 769 7555, www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk

Battle Against Tranquillisers, tel: 0117 966 3629, www.bataid.org

Council for Information on Tranquillisers and Antidepressants (CITA), tel: 0151 932 0102, www.citawithdrawal.org.uk

Cocaine Anonymous, tel: 0800 612 0225, www.cauk.org.uk

Drinkline, tel: 0800 917 8282

Narcotics Anonymous, tel: 0845 373 3366, www.ukna.org

The National Drugs Helpline, tel: 0800 776 600, www.talktofrank.com

Rehab 4 Alcoholism, tel: 0800 111 4108, www.rehab4alcoholism.com 

Re-Solv, tel: 01785 810 762, www.re-solv.org

Co-dependents Anonymous, www.coda-uk.org

Overeaters Anonymous, tel: 07000 784 985, www.oagb.org.uk

Sexaholics Anonymous, tel: 07000 725 463, www.sauk.org

Workaholics Anonymous, www.workaholics-anonymous.org

Anxiety / Phobias / OCD

First Steps to Freedom, tel: 0845 120 2916, www.first-steps.org

OCD Action, tel: 0845 390 6232, www.ocdaction.org.uk

Anxiety Care, tel: 020 8478 3400, www.anxietycare.org.uk

National Phobics Society, tel: 08444 775 774, www.phobics-society.org.uk

No Panic, tel: 0808 808 0545, www.nopanic.org.uk

Bereavement

Child Death Helpline, tel: 0800 282 986, www.childdeathhelpline.org.uk

Cruse Bereavement Care, tel: 0844 477 9400, www.cruse.org.uk

Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide, tel: 0844 561 6855, www.uk-sobs.org.uk

Carers

Adfam, tel: 020 7553 7640, www.adfam.org.uk

Al-Anon, tel: 020 7403 0888, www.al-anonuk.org.uk

Families Anonymous, tel: 0845 1200 660, www.famanon.org.uk

Gam-Anon, tel: 08700 508 880, www.gamanon.org.uk

Carers UK, tel: 0808 808 7777, www.carersuk.org

Children / Young People

Papyrus, tel: 0870 170 4000, www.papyrus-uk.org

Childline, tel: 0800 11 11, www.childline.org.uk

Depression / Manic Depression

Association for Post-Natal Depression, tel: 020 7386 0868, www.apni.org

Depression Alliance, tel: 0845 123 2320, www.depressionalliance.org

Manic Depression Fellowship, tel: 08456 340 540, www.mdf.org.uk

Samaritans, tel: 08457 909 090, www.samaritans.org

Eating Disorders

The Eating Disorders Association, tel: 0845 634 1414 / 0845 634 7650, www.b-eat.co.uk

Elderly

Age Concern, tel: 0800 009 966, www.ageconcern.org.uk

Counsel and Care, tel. 0845 300 7585, www.counselandcare.org.uk

Family / Relationships

Relate, tel: 0845 130 4016, www.relate.org.uk

Other helplines

Seasonal Affective Disorder Association, tel: 01903 814 600, www.sada.org.uk

Ex-Service Mental Welfare Society, tel: 01372 841 600, www.combatstress.org.uk

Mind, tel: 0845 766 0163, www.mind.org.uk

Sane, tel: 0845 767 8000, www.sane.org.uk

Psychosis / Schizophrenia

Rethink, tel: 0845 456 0455, www.rethink.org

 

More helplines available on www.patient.co.uk/selfhelp.asp

 


We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. ACCEPT COOKIES What are cookies?